top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2024 Western Pennsylvania Football Player Spotlight: Imani Christian Academy's Dayshaun Burnett


DayShaun Burnett (third from right) stands with family and Imani Christian Academy head football coach LaRoi Johnson after announcing his commitment to Penn State University back on February 7. (Brentaro Yamane | Cover Three Athletics)


DAYSHUAN BURNETT

School: Imani Christian Academy

Position: LB-ATH

Year: Senior

Height: 6-5

Weight: 230


ABOUT DAYSHAUN

In the past couple of years, Imani Christian Academy has been getting more attention for the growth of its football and basketball programs. Rising senior Dayshaun Burnett has been a part of this historic growth being one of the star football players and making an impact on the basketball court as well. Burnett had 16 Division I football offers and narrowed his decision down to Pitt, Rutgers, Penn State, Kentucky and West Virginia. Back on February 7, Burnett ultimately made the decision to commit to Penn State. Burnett is a 2x WPIAL and PIAA Basketball champion and showed his athleticism in the paint picking up rebounds and scoring easy points when given the opportunity. But last year, in football, he was all around the field whether it be playing quarterback, running back, wide receiver, defensive end and even linebacker, which is what he was recruited to play in college. Some of Burnett's accolades from last season include being named an All-State Defensive End and winning the Allegheny Football Conference. Last year, on the defensive side, Burnett recorded 78 tackles, 5.5 sacks, returned an interception for a touchdown and returned a fumble for a touchdown. Offensively, he threw for over 500+ yards, rushed for 300+ yards and had over 500+ receiving yards. 247 Sports as ranked Burnett as a four-star linebacker.


QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

Dayshaun, congratulations on committing to Penn State back in February. Tell me what were some of the biggest reasons for you to commit there?

I feel like Big Ten football is just different and especially at my position. Penn State, I know can make me better and get me into the league (NFL).


One of the biggest trends I see is some of the best players in the WPIAL and City League committing to Penn State. I want to ask, what do you think Penn State is doing right to get a lot of the best players from this area to commit there?

I feel like because it’s a good program and it’s not far from home. So, kids are going to want to go there.


Last year, you all lost to Mohawk in the WPIAL 2A Quarterfinals. What was the biggest takeaway that your team had from that unfortunate loss?

I feel like we were taking teams for granted last year, like we were supposed to step on the field and just blow teams out. We cannot have that this year especially it being my last ride.


Ok, now what would you say are the biggest things that your team is preparing for this season to make a deeper playoff run? 

I would say staying locked in especially in the crucial moments and getting stronger is our biggest key.


Individually, what have you been trying to improve on this offseason to become a better player? 

Just my technique at defensive end as well as my stamina because like I said, playing all sides of the ball takes a toll on your body.


Your head coach LaRoi Johnson has been known to be called "That Guy" by some people. What's it like being coached under him?

It’s a great opportunity playing for him because he’ll always put you in positions to make plays as well as get offers. It’s just a matter of, "what are you going to do with the opportunity?".


I don't think many people realize that number of players on your team that have offers. There is you, David Davis, Gabe Jenkins, Steve VanDiver, Markus Williams and William Ki Gorman. There might be even some players I am missing. What do you think the mentality is that you all have to have a core group getting offers and looks day in and day out?

Yes, all of us are phenomenal players but we can ever back down from the work that comes with it, that’s what makes good players great.


People think of you as a football player, but people need to be reminded that you are a 2x WPIAL and 2x PIAA Basketball Champion, that had extremely much more playing time last season. Just talk to me about the experience that you had with your teammates of repeating as champions.

It was always fun playing with the guys on the hoop squad. They have the same mentality as us on the football team, that it’s the work that comes with everything that makes us great.


Your teammate RJ "94FeetJizzle" Sledge was one of the star basketball players for your team last year. Do you think you or anyone on your team is convincing him to try and play football for his senior year?

We have been trying to get him to play corner since he got to Imani.


There has been a pattern of many Power 5 football players enrolling early and beginning classes in the Spring in recent years. Can we expect to see you back on the basketball court at Imani looking for the three-peat or will you try to enroll early at Penn State?

I’m going to enroll early after my senior year of football.


Ok, here are some fun questions for you. First, besides football, what other hobbies do you have?

I like to draw and cook a little bit.


If you could have an NIL deal with any company, which company would you choose?

Jordan brand, I would love that one I am not going to lie.


Do you have any nicknames?

All my life everyone has just called me Shaun, but I also get DayDay. Or 3x (3times), I got that one during my junior year because I scored three times and my number is 3 so it just stuck.


What is one of your favorite movies ever?

Friday with Ice Cube and Chris Tucker.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

I’m actually pretty fast for my size. People don’t expect someone that is 6-5 and 230lbs to run a 4.5 (40-yard dash) in high school.

22 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page