top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2024 Western Pennsylvania Football Player Spotlight: Trinity's Jonah Williamson

Trinity quarterback Jonah Williamson looks over at the sidelines to receive a play call from coaches during the Hillers game against Connellsville in 2023. (Kelli Alderson | KA Visuals)


JONAH WILLIAMSON

School: Trinity

Position: QB-FS

Year: Junior

Height: 6-2

Weight: 200


ABOUT JONAH

If Trinity has aspirations to win a WPIAL title in the next two seasons, they'll have some they can trust under center to make the play calls and that is quarterback Jonah Williamson. Before Jonah arrived at Trinity, if you asked Western Pennsylvania football experts about Trinity, they probably wouldn't say that the Hillers are a football powerhouse. Well, since Jonah arrived and head coach Dan Knause arrived at the school in 2022, things have changed drastically in the best way possible, and the Hillers are back on the map. As the starting quarterback last season, Williamson led the Hillers to their first playoff win since 2007 after beating North Catholic in the first round of the WPIAL 4A Playoffs. Williamson can make plays with his arms or with his legs and that's why for Trinity, there is a lot of hope for the next couple of seasons. Last season, Williamson threw for 1,860 yards and 13 touchdowns while also rushing for 1,012 and 12 touchdowns. And to show how athletically he really is, he's also starter on the boys' basketball team in which he averaged 11 points per game last season. And he's the starting catcher for the Hillers baseball team that defeated Plum in the first round of the WPIAL 5A baseball playoffs. During the season, Williamson batted .380.


QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

Jonah, last year was one to remember for your Hillers team. You defeated a good Thomas Jefferson team that didn't seem the same after losing to you all. And your team won a playoff game for the first time since 2007, tell me what were your takeaways from last season? 

Last season, our team was really able to come together. We had a great group of guys and it translated to our play on the field. That game (Thomas Jefferson) was a turning point for us, as the last 2 seasons of work with our great coaching staff came together.


You have two Division I offers from Robert Morris and Lehigh. As you become an upperclassman, tell me about how the recruiting process has been for you up to this point?

Recruiting is really starting to pick up. I have received a few offers, with more interest from other schools as well.


Do RMU, Lehigh or any of the teams interested in you want to see you primarily play quarterback or safety?

I am being recruited to play quarterback.


On both a quarterback level and a defensive positional level, what are some things that you have been trying to improve on this offseason?

Offensively, I have been trying to improve in my reads and progressions, getting through them fast and improving my accuracy. Defensively, I want to be able to be more vocal.


Now, to me, what's been impressive about you is your athleticism. Last year, as a sophomore you helped your team make playoffs in football, basketball and baseball. Whether, it be a quarterback, safety, forward or catcher, you have excelled. Not many athletes can be three-sport athletes and take their teams to the playoffs at a young age. What was last year like, for you making playoff runs in all three sports?

Last year was an awesome year. Playing sports is fun, but winning is even better. Being able to do it in every sport made the year so much better.


I truly think after next season, you will get some looks for basketball and will get some offers for baseball if you haven't already. What sports would you want to play in college? Would you want to just play football, or try to play two sports?

I want to play football and/or baseball. I really enjoy both sports, so exploring both opportunities, or even playing both, is something I want to do.


Summer can be a busy time for football players trying to get in shape. You have been doing that while also playing travel baseball for Beaver Valley Red 16U. What has your experience been like playing for that travel league team?

Travel baseball works out very well. I go to football during the week, and baseball on the weekends. I get to play in front of a lots of colleges while also having fun.


From videos I watch and articles I read I can feel that head coach Dan Knause seems to be excited about the potential this Trinity football program has. What's it like playing under Coach Knause?

The program is amazing under Coach Knause. All of our coaches are great people, who dedicate their time and summers to making us better.


Ok, let's move on to some fun questions. First off, where is your go-to place to get food?

Definitely Moe's


Which team that isn't on your football schedule do you wish you could play this season?

I would want to play Canon Mac. We played them all the time in youth leagues and I’m friends with a lot of guys from there.


If you could run any type of business in the world, what would you choose?

I would run a sporting goods place. I’ve played sports my whole life and I think it would be something I’d like to do.


Since you play three sports, tell me your favorite NFL, NBA and MLB player? It can be current or all-time. 

NFL is Josh Allen. NBA is Lebron James. And MLB is Josh Harrison.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

I have a really bad slice in golf.

37 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page